God’s Love for our Heart

Heart Lessons 3

Heart Lesson 2 (Pursuit of the Heart) gave you a glimpse into my heartbreak in the early days after our daughter died in 2002.  Today I want to share some things I learned about the way God relates to our hearts, primarily from John Eldredge, author of The Ransomed Heart.

A LOVE AFFAIR OF THE HEART

Jesus answered a lawyer’s question about the greatest commandment with this statement:  “ Love the Lord thy God with all your heart”. Matthew 22:37 Eldredge calls this the Sacred Romance. God’s call comes to us in :

  • whispers in the wind,
  • beauty of evening,
  • touch of someone we love
  • favorite music
  • birth of a child

Even in times of deep suffering and loss He calls to us.Something calls to us every moment of our lives:

  • a deep inconsolable longing in our heart
  • that yearns for intimacy, beauty, adventure
  • that fuels our search for meaning, for wholeness, sense of being alive

In our heart of hearts, the most important thing about us comes in a voice, and that voice that calls us is the voice of God.

Do you believe this? 

Look at this passage. Isaiah 30:18-21

  • v. 1  “the Lord said, How terrible it will be for these stubborn children.  They make plans, but they don’t ask me to help them.”
  • v. 15   “IF you will be calm and trust me, you will be strong.”
  • v. 18   the Lord wants to show his mercy
    1. He will comfort me.
    2. The Lord is a fair God.
    3. Everyone who waits for his help will be happy
  • v. 19 the Lord hears my crying and will comfort me.
    1. When He hears me, He will help me.
    2. the Lord has given me sorrow and hurt like the bread and water I ate every day.
    3. He is my teacher
    4. He will not continue to hide from me
    5. I will see my teacher with my own eyes
  • v. 21 “If I go the wrong way – to the right or to the left, I will hear a voice behind me saying, This is the right way. You should go this way.”

THE ENEMY’S ASSAULT ON A WOMAN’S HEART

Eldredge says that the Enemy (Satan) has a special hatred for Eve.

“Woman is passionately loved by the God of the universe; and woman is passionately hated by his Enemy, but Jesus has come to heal our broken heart and restore our feminine soul.”

Our deepest questions are related to our heart’s greatest needs, and these questions are not unique to women, but they continue to plague women well past adolescence. The question, “Who Am I?”, begins to haunt us in adolescence. Even though we KNOW we were made in the image of God, the arrows of self-doubt pierce our heart in our lowest moments.

WE FEEL UNSEEN, UNSOUGHT, AND UNCERTAIN.

Creation was finished with woman, not man.  She was the finishing touch, not an afterthought.  Woman’s capacity and desire for intimate relationships tells about God’s nature. He has a tender heart, yearning for us to love Him.

THE ARROWS OF THE ENEMY

If God is calling me and seeking me, showing me his mercy, what will the Enemy do to try to prevent us drawing near to God?  He sends Arrows.

God’s message to us is that we are special, we have a good heart.

The Enemy says we are worthless or twisted and dirty or a dime a dozen.

God says life will be rich and fulfilling if we give it away in love and heroic sacrifice.

The Enemy tells me I better watch my back, manipulate my world and arrange it to benefit me.

His voice tells me He is good and to release the wellsprings of my heart to Him.

The Enemy tells me not to let life out of my control.

WHAT DOES GOD WANT FROM US?

We were stolen from our True Love, and He launched the greatest campaign in the history of the world to get us back.  God created us for intimacy with him.  When we turned our back on Him He promised to come for us. He used personal messengers, slavery and deliverance, the desert and miracles. When all else failed, he conceived the most daring of plans:  He stole into the enemy’s camp incognito disguised as a newborn.  A daring raid into enemy territory.  (Edredge, 201)

God is after is us

  • our laughter
  • our tears
  • our dreams
  • our fears
  • our heart of hearts.

We’ve never been wanted for our heart, our truest self, not really, not for long. The thought that God wants our heart seems too good to be true.

It took me a long time to understand this with my heart; my head could understand it. But in my heart of hearts I didn’t really believe it until a song by Janet Paschal soaked in and knocked away the shell around my heart. These words would not let go:

He’ll do anything to love you,

Everything to keep you,

Close to His heart, 

You can’t drift to far.

He reached from the cross for you.

Click on Janet’s name to hear a sample of this beautiful song.

Counting joy

JoyMartell

One thought on “God’s Love for our Heart

  1. Pingback: Unexpected Blessings | countingjoyblog

Leave a Reply

