Confidence. Certainty. Conviction. Belief.

“Being confident of this, God began a good work in you and he will continue until it is finished when Jesus Christ comes again.” Phil. 1:6

Confidence. Certainty. Conviction. Belief.

Where do confidence and faith go in the midst of the everyday? It’s the little stuff that eats away at certainty and conviction. When the day is crammed with interruptions, complaining, or endless problems, we falter and sag. Hoping the end of the day is near.

It’s children underfoot and a leaking washing machine or broken dryer. It’s a demanding boss with relentless deadlines – too much to do and no time to do it. Expecting the impossible, LIFE overwhelms.

And yet, God has promised to finish this work He set within ME and YOU, friend, if you are a believer in His Son.

The blessing of living until 65 is that I can see this good work that God began in me back in 1957. I can look at the twists and turns of my life and see where I gained insight into the needs of children with emotional and intellectual disabilities. I know what it means to be encouraged and comforted. Heartache and pain live within but slowly I have learned to give back comfort and wisdom.

God has put in me all that I need to be His faithful servant. He gave me the Comforter (His Holy Spirit) to plead my case when words fail me.

Oswald Chambers said, “Crises always reveal a person’s true character” (My Utmost for His Highest, 1935). This good work within has to be nurtured before the crisis – the private relationship with the Father will uphold you when the crisis comes. God’s training ground is that private communion, listening and speaking with the Father that provides you with the foundation of faith.

The other amazing promise in this verse is that God will continue the good work within us until it is finished. He’s not done with me. “He who believes in me . . . out of him will flow rivers of living water.” (John 7:38). IF my private relationship with the Father continues to grow by focusing on the Source, living water will naturally flow.

In earlier posts I’ve talked about the importance of a daily time of meditation. The piece I’ve learned in the last few months to include is the daily list of blessings. How can this foundation of faith grow if I’m not aware of how my Father has blessed me? Have you tried counting?

If you have not read one thousand gifts by Ann Voscamp by now, at least click over to her blog. Beginning today she will post 31 days in October about this crazy joy that thanksgiving brings. The perspective of looking at everyday moments to find God’s gifts can change EVERYTHING. Then it doesn’t seem outrageous or bold to say that my confidence, certainty, conviction, and faith in the good work” within me come from the gifts of my Father.

Counting these gifts of joy today:

2454. soft rain nearly all day

2455. medicine for Irritable Bowel Syndrome that works!

2456. no inspiration for the blog all day — there is bound to be a blessing here; just don’t see it yet.

2457. still waters, green pastures the deep need created in our souls for this beauty

2458. this holy land of beauty that provides for that need if I look for it or remember it or read it in His word

2459. the feel of changing seasons

JoyMartell

One thought on “Confidence. Certainty. Conviction. Belief.

  1. bernadette

    Joy…you are the blog to the left of me over at Ann’s place this week, so I thought I’d stop by and say hello. Love your pictures and your words, and am so grateful to walk through a slice of life with you. Blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

