October in Tennessee

For the first time in thirty years I’m not working when fall arrives in Tennessee. My senses seem to be more attuned to each change in the temperature, the leaves, the sky, the smells. I’ve always loved fall, but October for my life as a teacher was totally consumed in school, football games, decorating a classroom, and parent conferences.

This year —- my porch is decorated and my front door has a fall wreath before Thanksgiving. Got to be a record.

No killing frosts so far this year, so changing leaves lying on summer green grass is normal. Walking down leaf-covered paths on brilliant sunny days seem like delicious stolen moments.

But this is my season of retirement! I can take a weekend to visit a great niece and nephew. They take me to visit the sheep down their country road.

Blessings recorded in my journal

2516. Beef stew in the crockpot

2517.  a new fall table cloth

2543. farm and produce stand full of pumpkins, gourds, and mums –beautiful!

The whole earth is filled with His glory. Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good.

2 thoughts on “October in Tennessee

Leave a Reply

