What happened to May?

The days have just flown by this month, don’t know where the time went.

Writing blogs was pushed way down on my to-do list.

???????????????????????????????

Marie, me, Sara, Jessica, Tricia

Travels to West Tennessee meant two weekends away from home.  A bridal shower for the last single niece brought some of the women of the family together.1gift

A second trip to Henderson met two objectives. Family members who could, gathered for a visit with our Air Force General while he was in the States for his daughter’s college graduation. Some of the grandkids and their parents made the trip and reconnected in a brief visit before Paul returned to his post in Europe.

Plenty of noise with crew

Plenty of noise with this crew

This look is priceless. "Are you kidding me?"

This look is priceless. “Are you kidding me?”

Cupcake icing is the best!

Cupcake icing is the best!

The General and his 4th granddaughter

The General and his 4th granddaughter

I stayed over through Monday to be on hand during brother Steve’s surgery for prostrate removal. All went well and we had some good laughs at Steve’s post-surgery loopy comments. It’s rare to hear the “professor” sound a little goofy. He prefers wry humor with wordplay.

Professor Steve, his wife, Marie and 2 grandkids who care nothing about this picture taking!

Professor Steve, his wife, Marie and 2 grandkids who care nothing about this picture taking!

While in West TN we squeezed in a visit to the flea market at Crump, Tennessee. Between Sunday dinner and evening church services I joined the Serious Bargain Shopping Team of Marie and Amy, also known as BAM (Bargain-hunting with Amy and Marie). The Crump flea market looks about like the name sounds: outdoor tables, storage units crowded with dusty knick-knacks that haven’t moved in years. Piles of rusty farm tools and serious junk kept us looking for treasures. In all that mess we surely would find some bargains.

Underneath this junk is a great baggage cart that would make a coffee table. Somebody bought it while Amy considered.

Underneath this junk is a great baggage cart that would make a coffee table. Somebody bought it while Amy considered.

I am happy with the four items I landed as well as their prices.

Scrabble game for $1 and 25 cent box

Scrabble game for $1 and 25 cent box

???????????????????????????????

A $3 shelf that matches the one in my craft room

Someday I'll paint them both white and can put all my button/ribbon jars out.

Someday I’ll paint them both white and can put all my button/ribbon jars out.

My favorite find was this little cup and saucer with purple flowers. I have another set in the same pattern which belonged to Larry’s mother.???????????????????????????????

Matching cups and saucers

Matching cups and saucers

This is definitely the month of graduations and parties, so my social calendar has been  busy. Tomorrow night I’ll attend a high school graduation of the last class of 8th graders I taught at Donelson Middle School. Dinner with one of my former team members beforehand is an added treat. May also keeps my Video Maker, Larry, extremely busy with pre-school, kindergarten, and high school graduations, dance recitals, and on and on.

My chronic issues with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (so glad to have a name for this interruption to my day!) appeared too often this month.When my doctor asked me what had changed since he last saw me, I reminded him that I’m retired (no stress), but I have been eating out more frequently with girlfriends! Which means a strong possibility I’ve had some wheat products or milk products in some form (these are my food allergies) . Enough said about this!

My journal of thanksgiving included these gifts:

  • safe travels for all family members from Georgia, Arkansas, and Belgium!
  • time to visit with brothers, sister-in-laws, nieces and nephews and their children
  • Steve’s successful surgery
  • any day without IBS!
  • lunch with friends
  • opportunities to share a joy box with a friend beginning her cancer treatments

JoyMartell??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

