Potential

???????????????????????????????We have finally had some days without rain! These beautiful sunny days with gentle breezes and low temperatures are rare around Memorial Day.

Spent some time Friday working in the dirt.

I do some of my best thinking in dirt. These hanging baskets were on sale at Home Depot and practically shout “Spring”!Pet.before The deep pink is rich and as velvety as the blossoms. Petunias smell like summer to me evoking vivid memories of Aunt Mayme’s farm. A long brick planter stretched across the front of the house, and she filled it with petunias every year.
IMG_1579I bought the fullest baskets with solid color blooms along with supplies to rework the baskets. Why mess with a good thing? I could leave these baskets alone, but the plants are crowded. Eventually sometime this summer they will begin to crowd each other out.WhitePet

I’m looking at their potential. Can I stretch these baskets into more than three baskets? Each basket holds at least 5 or 6 strong plants. I’ll pull out 4 or so, repot them into a new basket, add a white plant, and give them space to “breathe”.

Potential.

I carefully separate each clump, trying not to bend any stems. Handle gently; these petunias are not as strong as they look. They remind me of children. Taking care of plants can bring out my nurturing instincts – as if they are alive. Oh, wait. They are alive!Remix

Sometimes I even have a conversation in my head with them. I can hear some of my friends and family, thinking, “She has finally lost it.”

A few years ago we had a beautiful border of towering spruce trees in the back yard. I called them “My Ladies” and walked around the border, talking to them! They just looked like graceful ladies with long  skirts spreading out, branches touching each other.

Patting rich dirt around the plants,  I think of the Master Gardener who had a plan for us from the beginning. Love these verses:

“Long before [God] laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love . . .”              Ephesians 1:4 (The Message)

“I am your Creator. You were in my care even before you were born.”      Isaiah 44:2a (Contemporary English Version)

God created each of us with potential. He formed us with the DNA that makes each of us unique. I’ve talked to students, adults, believers, non-believers who don’t believe in their own potential. It’s not easy to convince someone who has a negative view of themselves. Circumstances, experiences, or negative voices contribute to a person’s view of their potential.

God’s promises give hope to the hopeless. Look at these promises:

I have carried you since you were born; I have taken care of you from your birth. Even when you are old, I will be the same. Even when your hair has turned to gray, I will take care of you. I made you and will take care of you.                                                           Isaiah 46:3-4 (New Century Version)

It’s in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for . . . part of the overall purpose he is working out in everything and everyone.                    Ephesians 1:11-12 (The Message)

Potential. A word filled with hope, possibilities, promise.

Depending on your perspective of your Father, you may feel disheartened or discouraged, knowing that you have yet to live up to the potential He placed in you. But our Father, the Creator is unlike an earthly father. Every time we fail to reach our potential, He picks us up, forgives, and supports our next attempt. It’s never too late to live up the potential our Father knows is within us.

My petunia plants? Did they live up to the potential I believed in? Three pots grew into four. See for yourself.bASKET2DeckRackBluechair

In the overall scheme, the front porch needed some sprucing up. This table was free from a neighbor’s trash pile and has served many years on the porch. Obviously rain and sun have taken a toll on the wood, but see the potential? Reclaiming, recycling, or upcycling furniture are all about potential.

After an hour of waxing with a dark wax and a little buffing, this table lives up to its potential.IMG_0031IMG_0032IMG_0035

So thankful today for

  • low temps (below 80 in May)
  • deep rich colors of flowers
  • the variety of plants that inhabit my small space in Tennessee
  • sunshine and rain to make the flowers grow
  • the resilience of plants to survive and revive in harsh weather

JoyMartell

Leave a Reply

