Five-Minute Friday: Beautiful

5 Minute Friday

Writing for five minutes. No editing, second-guessing, Given a topic from Lisa-Jo’s blog, can I limit myself to five minutes of writing? That is the challenge. From Lisa-Jo’s blog:

Not for comments or traffic or anyone else’s agenda. But for fun, for practice, for joy at the sound of syllables, sentences and paragraphs all strung together by the voice of the speaker.

We love to just write without worrying if it’s just right or not. For five minutes flat. All on the same topic.

Not sure how to participate – the step-by-step directions are over here:

My second attempt at this quick writing. As soon as I get up, I look at the topic. Then my mind goes crazy trying to narrow my thoughts. I know this is not following instructions exactly but just thought I’d share my process!

Beautiful

Jennifer. Inside and out. From first to last. A heart of compassion, courage, and conviction. Memories of childhood, but mainly memories in her last few  years.

God’s Creation. Jennifer’s last view – the foothills of the Smokies. My parents’ teaching by example to appreciate those same mountains and valleys in northeast Alabama and North Carolina. The Gulf Coast beaches – sunrise, sunset, crystal blue water and white sandy beaches.

Fresh cut grass. Blooming petunias, hydrangeas, purple cone flowers. Jennifer’s bush: saucer magnolia. Birdsong. Early morning cool. Yesterday’s gentle rain: so rare for the 4th of July.

???????????????????????????????Gallery4

View from Star Mountain

View from Star Mountain

"Surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age." Matt. 28:20

“Surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matt. 28:20

IMG_0181

I almost forgot to stop! I think I need a timer! Once I begin writing and thinking, I lose all track of time. 

Every statement in the five minute writing is a thank you to God. Every one is a blessing that fills my soul with joy and gratitude.

JoyMartell

 

3 thoughts on “Five-Minute Friday: Beautiful

Leave a Reply

