Five Minute Friday: STORY

Five Minute Friday

Lisa-Jo Baker gives a topic every Friday and challenges bloggers to write for only five minutes.  I still wonder if I can I limit myself to five minutes of writing. 

STORY

This topic is so huge — story is how I taught for 33 years. If I can tell a gripping story to my students, I usually can teach them anything from that point on.

I come from a family of storytellers. Before television became such a huge part of everyone’s life, storytelling was the entertainment, around the supper table, around the fireplace or campfire.

But the story that impacts my life the most is God’s Story in my life. The Old Testament Bible stories were the best sermons I remember my Daddy preaching. He could make Joshua or David come alive through the telling.

Jesus was a storyteller. See the parables in the New Testament. How else could the common folk of fishing villages, farmers, and shepherds understand his “upside down” message?

Reading John Eldredge’s book Epic gave me the best understanding of God’s story. This book is about “the story God is telling and my role in that story” and requires more than five minutes to tell! But these underlined sentences from the book tell me everything: “Story is the language of the heart. Story nourishes us.”

Story is how we make sense of life.

“All of life is a story.” Madeleine L’Engle (a fabulous storyteller)

JoyMartell

Join the 5 Minute Friday community over at Lisa-Jo’s blog. Here are her instructions:

So, here’s the skinny: every Friday for over two years hundreds of people have joined a kind of writing flash mob. We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that I post here at 1 minute past midnight EST every Friday.

We love to just write without worrying if it’s just right or not. For five minutes flat. All on the same topic. Not for comments or traffic or anyone else’s agenda.  But for fun, for practice, for joy at the sound of syllables, sentences and paragraphs all strung together by the voice of the speaker.

Not sure how to participate – the step-by-step directions are over here:

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: STORY

  1. Julie Anne

    “Story is the language of the heart. Story nourishes us.”

    I am learning the truth of this statement more and more! and I’m learning the benefits of storytelling in my own life!

    Stopping by from FMF!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

