Five Minute Friday: MERCY

I did not understand God’s concept of mercy for many years, and I’m not sure that I completely grasp it now. But only through words of Scripture can it be explained for me.

I’ve been memorizing these chapters in Romans through the Romans Project and today these verses come back to me:  Romans 8:3,4

For what the law was powerless to do because of sinful flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of  sinful flesh to be a sin offering in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fully met in us who do not live according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.

By losing my only child I get a glimpse of God’s mercy in giving His only child.

Sunrise.13

His mercies are new every morning.

My humanity does not grasp this sacrifice, this parental love, completely, but with this Gift, this mercy, that gives me life, I can “share in His glory”. (Romans 8 again)

So I wear mercy like a cloak.

It covers me every day. Without it, life is futile, spinning and toiling but getting nowhere.

I give thanks for “the invisible qualities of God, His eternal power and divine nature” for covering my sins with this fabric of mercy. It is so lightweight that I barely feel it, yet protects me from my own sinful, foolish self.

Gather your Mercy cloak around you today. Imagine it as God’s finest fabric that glimmers in sunlight and covers you in Grace.

JoyMartell

Find out about Five Minute Friday here. Read today about the Mercy House in Kenya.

Leave a Reply

