Breakfast Foods

31days.2When I began this series, my goal was posting 31 days without skipping, but I knew that one of my health issues could suddenly pop up. And it did. My knee has been popping out of place (really I think it locks up) because of arthritis. I’m waiting to get a gel shot this week, but before that could happen, Saturday morning a simple sideways motion to get out of a chair resulted in a knee episode that put me in the bed, a trip to the ER since it was the weekend; finally, Larry picked up a rolling chair on the way home from the ER . Crutches and pain medicine don’t do well with my accident-prone self. After relying on Larry for everything all day Saturday and most of Sunday, the chair gives me some independence and Larry some breathing space!rollingchair

Since Friday’s post was on breakfast, here are a few more thoughts on breakfast options.

This is 3/4 cup of old-fashioned oats cooked with 1 cup of milk.

This is 3/4 cup of old-fashioned oats cooked with 1 cup of milk.

A 3/4 cup serving provides more fiber and protein. Instead of using water, the extra milk adds more calcium. Then I add more a little salt, a good dash of cinnamon, and enough milk to make it creamy. A good helping of raisins provides enough sweetness that no sugar is needed.

Alternative breakfast. My favorite brand of ready-to-eat breads

Alternative breakfast. My favorite brand of ready-to-eat breads

When traveling or on a busy morning, these Udi’s muffins sometimes are the next choice. You’ll notice these are not cheap — 4 muffins for $6.00. It’s much cheaper to bake my own, but having these options in the freezer is a good plan. Udi’s has some delicious cinnamon rolls for the same price, and they are huge! You can find these in the regular freezer section (not the health food section) of Kroger and Publix. They seem to be located in a different place in all of these stores, so just ask at Customer Service.

The joys I’m counting today fit in that category of hard eucharisteo — giving thanks for something that does not look like a blessing.

  • this rolling chair that allows me to move around AND carry or move stuff needed
  • pain medicine that helped tight muscles relax
  • a relatively empty ER – met with a wheelchair and rolled right in for service
  • a kind and patient X-ray technician who told me to take my time straightening out this painful knee. 
2 thoughts on “Breakfast Foods

  1. Pingback: 31 Days Living Dairy-Free and Wheat-Free | Counting Joy Blog

  2. Pingback: Apple Nachos: My New Favorite Snack | Counting Joy Blog

Leave a Reply

