New Gluten-Free and Dairy-free Items!

LivingWheatDairyFreeI’m excited about Panera’s new menu items. I sampled one of them this week and recommend it: the low-fat B-green smoothie. It’s full of veggies and fruit and NO DAIRY. I was so pleased to see that they have two blenders labeled Dairy and Non-Dairy. Panera's B-green Smoothie

Panera also added items to a Power Menu that are designed to help you lose weight, but for many of us, these items add more options that do not include wheat or dairy. The Power Bowls are most interesting to me. I have not tried them yet, but I’ve carefully read the ingredients. Four Power Bowls contain veggies, protein, and a very light dressing. Can’t wait to try one.

Power Steak Lettuce Wraps

Power Mediterranean Chicken Salad

I found some new items at Kroger this week in the pasta aisle, not in the Health Food aisle. They are now using a label that shows items that do not contain wheat. Pasta substitutes have been quite disappointing to me. I’ve tried all kinds and most are sticky and heavy. BUT this new one is delicious. I think it is because they have combined several different flours: brown rice, white rice, corn, and quinoa.

Tried this with spaghetti sauce -- great!

Tried this with spaghetti sauce — great!

I also found some Kroger wheat-free pasta that was new to me and Barilla which uses more than one grain. The clerk at Kroger watched me snap these pictures and had a little smirk on her face. I know she thinks I am a little nuts to be excited about pasta. Only those who have to “Live Without” or live with a family member with these restrictions get it.PennePastaKroger

I left the prices in each picture so you can compare.

I left the prices in each picture so you can compare.

I must add that I have some good friends who understand because they’ve been around me during an allergic reaction or helped out in ordering at a restaurant.

I’m thankful for:

  • good friends who willingly eat in a friendly environment for allergies
  • continued growth of available products “we” can eat
  • restaurants who have a menu or a notebook with ingredients of menu items and recommendations for each food allergy

JoyMartell

You can find the whole series of Living Dairy-Free and Wheat-Free on this page.

Leave a Reply

