Finding Your Creativity

Joy in a Box

                        Joy in a Box

 Before there was Pinterest, HGTV, TLC,
before there were blogs such as “The Inspired Room”, “Funky Junk Interiors”, “Miss Mustard Seed”,
before there were apps for Houzz, 3D Room Designer, Joss and Main, etc., etc.

there was this runaway bestseller in 1995 by Sarah Ban BreathnachSimple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy. Simple Abundance

Simple Abundance captured the hearts of millions of women by speaking to that piece of our souls that yearns for authenticity and simplicity. The daily entries begin with January and the Gratitude Journal. As I page through her daily essays I see her ideas translated into Pinterest Boards, virtual scrapbooks or journals of what appeals to individual taste and dreams.

Before Ann Voskamp’s best seller, 1000 Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are taught us to count our blessings every day, Sarah taught us to keep a Gratitude Journal. When Sarah’s book was published. she appeared on Oprah’s show several times. In fact, Oprah endorsed the gratitude journal idea, and it wasn’t long before Sarah published a Gratitude Journal.

Reading Simple Abundance restored and re-educated me to the joy of the “Sacred Soulcraft of Homecaring” (Sarah’s words). She elevated creativity and celebrated simple joys such as gathering favorite objects into a basket for inspiration, or creating a sacred space. Her book is filled with wonderful tools to give you courage to create.

Keepers of the Home (Sarah’s phrase) sounds biblical but it was the job of most women I knew in the 50s and 60s – my childhood and teen years. I learned the skills to be a keeper of the home from my mother, her sisters, her aunts and grandmother during those decades. I also took four years of Home Economics in high schoolWe learned cooking, sewing, decorating, landscaping, fashion, and leadership. I even represented my school at the National Conventions of Future Homemakers of America in Kansas City.

My point?  I learned these useful and creative homemaking skills, but I belong to the generation in which women were encouraged to have careers as well as birth babies, raise children and maintain a home. That busyness, that hectic and stress-filled life easily sapped the creativity right out of my bones.

If your busy life leaves you exhausted with no energy left for yourself, your life will be blessed in many ways by paying attention to your creative side. Sarah’s book is a great way to take small steps to find your creative side.

Button JarsCreativity is alive and well through the Internet — if you have time to browse. My sister-in-law has little time in her schedule to create, but she creates many boards on Pinterest with projects she likes. My nieces are learning to sew, crochet, and create new recipes through YouTube videos.

Check out my post from several days ago suggesting a new book to help you identify your creativity. Learn how to make a JoyBox like the heart=shaped box above in this post.

Have you reconnected to your creative side, or are you one of those people who believes you don’t have any creativity?

I’m counting the joys in

  • creating
  • millions of free ideas on the Internet
  • YouTube videos when I forget how to double crochet, or to cast on 
  • more ideas than I have time implement

JoyMartell

Leave a Reply

