Choose

Five Minute Friday

Click here to learn about 5 Minute Friday

Joining Lisa-Jo for Five Minute Friday. We write for five minutes on one word.

Today’s word is:

CHOOSE

Seventh grade. John Jones Elementary School in Gadsden, Alabama. My mama should have killed me that year.

Every morning I walked into the kitchen where she made a hot breakfast for four kids and two adults. I asked the same question every morning.

“What should I wear today?”

Every morning! And every morning she made great suggestions, but I disagreed. I found a flaw in every suggestion. My brothers, husband, and probably a few more folks would agree that I have a tendency to argue. (tongue in cheek here)

Why couldn’t I make my own choice? I don’t know; I was 12 years old. Hormones were racing around in this pre-teen body along with plenty of self doubt swirling in my head.CoatDress.3

The thing about this daily ritual? I still have to make those choices. Every morning I go to the closet, stare at the choices, and have a decision to make. I have to choose what to wear.

Have you read Colossians 3″ 9-14 in The Message?

God has a wardrobe already picked out for us. And it doesn’t change every day. I only have to choose to put these clothes on. These are the beautiful clothes; these are the clothes to grow into!

  • Compassion
  • Kindness
  • Humility
  • Quiet strength
  • Patience of Christ
  • Forgiving

But regardless of whatever else I put on?

Wear LOVE.

It’s my basic, all-purpose garment. I should never be without it.

I am thankful to have discovered this Scripture with new eyes. I pray I am still growing into this wardrobe.

JoyMartell

2 thoughts on “Choose

  1. Susan Chamberlain Shipe

    I. LOVE. THIS. and I love your beautiful, creative header on the blog with the little birds (did you sew them)? I love the clothes you folded out of paper (did you do?). IF you have made all of these beautiful little items, then I find it hard to believe you could have a hard time deciding what to wear!!!! But, wearing love AND the armor of God (Ephesians 6) are great everyday choices. Love you site. Love your post.

    Reply
    1. JoyMartell Post author

      Yes, these are my creations. 7th grade was such a weird time to me – I was in a tiny little country school and got all kinds of privileges for having good grades and behavior!

      Thanks for your encouragement. What a blessing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

