Five Minute Friday: CROWD

Writing for five minutes about one word – Today’s word:

Crowd

I’ve thought about this word, crowd, off and on all day. There are so many possibilities but the one that keeps coming back is how Jesus responded to crowds of people during His ministry.

My favorite times are when He left the crowds behind and went up into the mountains to pray. The demands on His time and attention would have truly been stressful to me.

Since retirement I look at crowds in a different way – I’m not so eager to be in a crowd for a parade or

a concert or

especially for a big sale. I’m enjoying quieter days with time to read, create, etc.

Middle school kids can become a crowd when three or more show up! Since most of my years of teaching were with this quirky age, I’ve spent many moments with a crowd of middle school students — getting the attention of a hundred 8th graders or a lunchroom full of noisy, energetic kids.

I think of those crowds who followed Jesus much like middle schoolers. They could be friendly or cranky with hunger or demanding with their own needs or the needs of those they loved.  Because Jesus was in human form He needed patience and rest and quiet just as we do. And then there were His disciples who clearly did not “get” Him so many times. Remember how He told them to let the children come to Him?

Our prayers must sound like the crowds in Galilee.

“Jesus, here! I need to be healed.”

“Jesus! We are hungry.”

A crowd of demands for what we need.

“He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all — how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?”  Romans 8:32

Lord, remind us to first give thanks for all the blessings you have graciously given us. 

JoyMartell

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: CROWD

  1. Mrs. Sexy

    I sometimes forget – actually I forget a lot – that Jesus was human even though he was the Son of God. So if he needed a break from the crowd, I guess that means I do too! And for me, right now, that’s my family. I don’t mean that negatively at all. But I don’t usually give myself an alone time or space without one of them (or all of them) around and needing my attention. God has really been pushing me to give me personal time and space so I can lay all that stress onto Him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

