Settling In: Chapter 2C

CoverPic.finalA Journey Home is the story of my mother’s experiences working as a nurse in a health clinic for the underserved in Ghana, West Africa. Click here to begin with the first entry of “The Journey Home”           

from her first letter

September, 1989, Wednesday 3 P.M.

My house is almost in order. I will prepare a tuna casserole for the four of us tonight. My new apartment would make three of my apartment back in McKenzie, TN. I turned one of the small bedrooms into a study with a desk, bookcase, a small table, and a chair for a visitor.

The living and dining room is about as big as Brenda’s and David’s (her son who lives in McKenzie) The bedroom has a bed, dresser, small mirror and long rack to hang clothes. Don’t know when the water bed will be put together. Bob has found out that the man who made his has moved.

Bob went back to Accra yesterday to check on my resident Visa, look for an air conditioner for my bedroom and take care of other business. Since he is spending the night there Beth and I had supper together. We had bacon, pancakes with Logcabin syrup, watched “Mr. Belvedere Goes to College”, and then went to bed in our own houses.

Beth and I have employed a housekeeper, Margaret. Yesterday she scrubbed every inch of this floor with a sponge and cleanser. Today she is ironing. I will get spoiled.

I do not plan to work at the clinic for several more days to give myself time to settle in a bit.

Beth and Bob are a delight and being so helpful in every way.

The weather is not as I expected. The rainy season is prolonged. Temperatures are probably in the low 90s. I brought an outdoor thermometer but it was broken in travel. The ceiling fan is not needed at night after I settle down to sleep.

In traditional dress in her bedroom

                                          In traditional dress in her bedroom

My love to each one of you and a special thanks regarding the goodbyes. They could have been much harder. I think I was so weary of “getting ready” I was almost numb — just ready to be on the way.

God bless and keep you all.

My love, hugs and kisses,

Mom

Next week will be her first report to all the churches and individuals who supported her.

Our good-byes when Mama left for Ghana were not easy, but we are not a family of drama. I was filled with pride and excitement for her new adventure. It was comforting to know that we would see her in a few months for Christmas when we all gathered at Cumberland Mountain State Park in Crossville, TN.

I am so thankful for the legacy left by Mama of her dedication and service in God’s Kingdom.

JoyMartell

One thought on “Settling In: Chapter 2C

  1. Pingback: A Journey Home: Introduction | Counting Joy Blog

Leave a Reply

