Friend: Five Minute Friday

A new school almost every year – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 12th grades. Friends are essential but they don’t come easily. Not the friends that last. I learned to take it slowly, observe classroom dynamics, waiting alone. Slowly someone would approach me, suggest we play together or sit together.

Moving so often did not create lifetime friends from school. But friends from church? They often lasted across the miles.

As an adult I learned that women need friends almost as life support. We share things with other women we trust.

Trust is essential to friendship. I have a circle of five friends who make sure we get together regularly for 21 years. Do you know what that means to that little girl who changed friendships every year?Girlfriends.Rest.

This journal entry, one year after our daughter died, says it well:

This circle of friends were at my door as soon as they heard the news of Jennifer’s death. How comforting they have been! Joan and Belinda came to the house that Saturday night. Kathy, Carrie, and Lark were with me on Sunday. All year, phone calls, cards, gifts in the mail, and plans to go out together have been my support. This year at our sleepover I felt loved and cared for. Belinda paid for my dinner and they covered my part of the hotel bill. Belinda sent me spring flowers on Thursday, April 13. And most of all, I felt their prayers, especially when I could not pray.

“I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you . . .” Romans 1:8

“… that is that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith.” Romans 1:12

I thank God for these five friends, sisters in faith, who have walked with me through such a dark valley, for the opportunities in the last 20 years to hold each other up and rejoice.

JoyMartell

4 thoughts on “Friend: Five Minute Friday

  1. dorgitman

    Funny how we think about friendship as kids. I was watching third graders yesterday, and was thinking I couldn’t really remember kids in my third grade class! Dropping by from Five Minute Friday. Thanks for the encouraging words.

    Reply
  2. patticates247

    So thankful that you had your circle of friends at that tough time. Wow! That is amazing. You are right, friends are like life support. An impressed FMF neighbor, Patti

    Reply

Leave a Reply

