Hands: Five Minute Friday

Hands.

My 66 year old hands remind me of my great-aunt Martha’s hands, my Grandma Johnson’s hands. Joints swollen with arthritis. Joints bent out of shape. Ring fingers too swollen for rings.LefthandRight hand

Creative Hands:  also the legacy of Great-Aunt Martha, Grandma Johnson, Mama Stephens, Great-Aunt Ollie, Grandmother Stephens, and my mother. Their hands were always busy, even in rest a basket sat nearby filled with yarn or quilt scraps or mending.

I learned to crochet when I was 12, made a huge yellow pillow for my bed. I made a dress the same year only through the patience of my mother who walked me through it step by painful step.

In retirement I’ve revived my joy in those skills. I have baskets and baskets of projects sitting around the house. Creating with my hands keeps me in touch with my roots and those creative women.

Basket.1

A Legacy Crafted by Love and Skill.

This basket is filled with the art made by hands of family members who no longer walk this earth. Memories and reminders of “where I’m from”.

Emblady

An embroidered dresser scarf  by my mother.

A lacy lady by my mother

A lacy lady by my mother

A quilt scrap from my mother-in-law's treasures and a scrap of lace carefully crafted by Aunt Martha.

A quilt scrap from my mother-in-law’s treasures and a scrap of lace carefully crafted by Aunt Martha.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A handmade baby cap for my husband and a napkin with a cutwork "S" by Grandmother Stephens.

A handmade baby cap for my husband and a napkin with a cutwork embroidery “S” by Grandmother Stephens.

 

I give thanks to the Creator for hands to crafting, stitching, knitting, crocheting, and creating family treasures.

JoyMartell

2 thoughts on “Hands: Five Minute Friday

  1. judith heaney

    What an incredible legacy each of these women has woven in their lives and passed on to the next generation of creative hands. Beautiful work. Beautiful words.

    I feel blessed from visiting here and reading your post today. Glad to have discovered you through Five Minute Friday! Blessings, friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

