Release: a Five Minute Friday

Joining Lisa-Jo at 5 Minute Friday where we write about the same topic for 5 minutes.

Today’s word:  RELEASE

“Let It Go!”

What a great song from the movie, Frozen. Surely you’ve heard this song. Maybe you’re even sick of it because the movie is played over and over at your house.

I’ve recently found myself saying, “Let it go”, in other contexts, sometimes to myself or a friend.  Some of the lyrics can be aptly apply to our fears or emotions. Have you prayed that God release you from your fears or pain? He tells us over and over to just let our worries, our pain, our fear GO! Give them to Him. His Son came to bear our burdens!

But we still hold tightly to old feelings. And the storms swirl inside.

The wind is howling like the swirling storm inside
Couldn’t keep it in, heaven knows I triedcloudysky

Don’t let them in, don’t let them see
Be the good girl

You always had to be
Conceal, don’t feel
Don’t let them know

It’s funny how some distance
Makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me
Can’t get to me at all
Up here in the cold thin air
I finally can breathe
I know I left a life behind but I’m too relieved to grieve

So we wear a mask to cover our pain. We hide behind the facade and “be the good girl”. The battle to control our mind never ends. Just when you think you have released everything, something happen, and the old fears or pain jump right back in.

So what can you do?

What can I do?Blueskies

REMEMBER

“I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.” Isaiah 12:2

BE READY FOR THE BATTLE

“The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace.” Romans 8:6

I find Sarah Young’s Jesus Calling to be a wonderful resource for the battle. Her insights remind me over and over that this battle belongs to the Lord, and I must stay close to Him in the Word and in prayer.

Thanks be to God for His promises.

He is my salvation!

JoyMartell

One thought on “Release: a Five Minute Friday

Leave a Reply

