I was in prison and you came . . .

A Journey HomeA Journey Home is the story of my mother’s experiences working as a nurse in a health clinic for the under-served in Ghana, West Africa. The work of the clinic was supported by ICHF African Christian Hospitals in Searcy, Arkansas. Click here to begin with the first entry of “The Journey Home”  My comments are in red.

CHAPTER 5B

From her newsletter to her supporters dated March 24, 1990, second installment. See the first installment here.

Greetings from Ghana,

Our medical work at the clinic is picking up satisfactorily. after a drop in the number of patients when no American nurses were here.  We also changed the days we are open from Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday to Monday/Wednesday/Friday. It always takes awhile for people to get used to a change. We will continue to leave Tuesday and Thursday free to devote to mobile clinic work. We recently visited one of the local prisons. All of the medicines for the prisoners are free, supplied from a fund raised by Royce and Cindy Reynolds in Alabama.

In our December visit to the prison we saw many who were sick with clothes so ragged they were hardly decent. Avril and I gave some money to two of our staff to go buy shorts for the most needy. Their shopping was successful, purchasing 34 pairs of shorts for about $40. In our recent visit the prisoners were not as sick. We saw almost 100, including many of the guards.

As the prisoners waited to be seen by the nurses, Francis, one of out clinic evangelists, preached to them for over an hour. They were quiet and attentive, asking questions at the end. Our plans are to return once a quarter with a clinic. Since one of the guards is a Christian, his support has been very helpful in getting us in.

Francis, a dedicated servant of the Lord

Francis, a dedicated servant of the Lord

A Ghanaian preacher is in charge of this ministry, conducting individual Bible studies, as well as Sunday and Wednesday services. Many have been baptized, and few have returned to their villages and established congregations.

Reading this account again of the nurses’ physical and spiritual assistance to prisoners, a verse kept echoing in my head. 

Matthew 25: 35, 36     ‘I was hungry. And you gave me something to eat. I was thirsty. And you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger. And you invited me in. I needed clothes. And you gave them to me. I was sick. And you took care of me. I was in prison. And you came to visit me.’

But the people asked the King, “When did we see you as a stranger or sick or in prison?” (My paraphrase of verses 37-39)

40 “The King will reply, ‘What I’m about to tell you is true. Anything you did for one of the least important of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

Opportunities to provide medical care never seemed to end for the clinic staff in the city of Kumasi.

I am thankful for opportunities and support that enabled Mama to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

JoyMartell

 

One thought on “I was in prison and you came . . .

Leave a Reply

