Walking By Faith

HEART LESSON

HEART LESSON

 

 

 

Tree limbs gently sway, and a breeze carries one yellow leaf down, then another.

YellowMaple

A crystal blue cloudless sky.blue sky

The crunch of leaves beneath my feet.backgroundleaves.jpg

Bright orange butternut squash grilled slices drizzled with pumpkin spice syrup. 

Each of our senses respond to the symphony of fall. How can we not feel close to the Creator when we experience this annual change of seasons?

But sometimes darkness turns a beautiful day into despair. Depression, life’s circumstances, illness can overwhelm our days, and walking in the light seems impossible. This entry by Sarah Young from Jesus Today is so true:

The longer you struggle with adverse circumstances, the darker the way before you appears –and the harder it is to imagine yourself walking along bright paths again.     p. 56

The only way I have found to change my view is to hold on and walk by faithbelieving God’s light will lead me through the darkness.

It has to begin with a plea for His mercy and grace, letting go of whatever control I think I have.

His promises tell me

You are my lamp, O Lord; the Lord turns my darkness into light.                   2 Samuel 22:20

The path of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn, shining ever brighter till the full lights of day.                                                                  Proverbs 4:18

And that practice of giving thanks that I’ve been following since the beginning of this blog? That’s even harder to do when life is dark. But it is essential, and if you fall out of practice? You slowly skipped a few days here and there, until the habit is broken.

For many years I taught my students that it takes 21 days to develop a habit. I’ve not checked that research lately, but I think 21 days is a good rule of thumb. You just have to begin and stay with it.

Of course, that’s one of those things that is easier said than done. Check out this older post of establishing habits.

Today I’m counting these blessings:

  • the fall experience and a few more warm days
  • God’s grace and His goodness
  • He never fails me
  • Sarah Young’s books-readings just a page, but packed with powerful images

JoyMartell

 

Leave a Reply

