NOTICE

Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. 

NOTICE

Ann Voskamp’s book, One Thousand Gifts, taught me to notice God’s daily, ordinary gifts. This gift of noticing moments in my day truly changed my perspective. By putting them down one at a time, every day, I learned to give thanks in all things.

I’ve given many of her books away; I want others to learn this amazing joy in what really matters. God gifted Ann with words to awaken this joy —- the New Testament is full of thanks and words to encourage our thankfulness. But Ann’s words touched my broken heart, and each day that I counted gifts, I slowly healed.???????????????????????????????

Walking in a valley of grief and heartbreak can just consume a soul; your head is down, looking at your feet, and you miss the rainbow, the mockingbird’s song, the smell of spicy apple cider.

Ann’s story of counting and finding God in the moments moved me to begin this blog and to continue to notice God’s blessings.

In this traditional season of thanksgiving, notice the small, the ordinary, the overlooked blessings.

How amazing is this gourd?

How amazing is this gourd?

That gratitude for the seemingly small and insignificant — this is the seed that plants the giant miracle in the midst of it all.                Ann Voskamp

Today I thank God for

  • every moment of grace
  • a story in today’s mail from my great-niece (we’re going to add to this story by mail!)
  • prayer with two friends at table in Panera
  • warm gingerbread with pumpkin applesauce

JoyMartell

 

 

One thought on “NOTICE

  1. brennhay

    Today I thank God for His comfort, for a loving husband with broad shoulders that support me, for a warm house on a cold, windy day and for the encouragement of this post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

