What I’ve Learned About Giving Thanks

GiveThanks.2Two women have taught me how to give thanks.

Since 2012 I’ve been practicing giving thanks in a daily journal. This practice is no accident.

Ann Voskamp’s book, One Thousand Gifts, opened my eyes to:

  • this “naming of the moments” as a holy work.
  • the sin of ingratitude
  • the apostle Paul learning how to be content (Phil.4:11-12)
  • hands must be open to receive joy and peace
  • joy and peace come in moments
  • giving thanks for the microscopic makes a place for God to grow within me

Sarah Young’s book, Jesus Calling,  provides daily reminders from Scripture that slowly seep into my soul each day. I find I need these daily readings to keep the practice of giving thanks a vital part of my life. I’m on my second reading of her book and continue to learn. Here are just a few nuggets I’ve underlined or written on post-its.

  • Thankfulness opens me to samples of heaven.      Nov. 22
  • Thankfulness is a language of love.
  • Thankfulness takes the sting out of adversity.       Nov. 24
  • Thankfulness opens my heart to God’s presence in my life.
  • We live in a world where blessings and sorrows intermingle.     Nov. 26
  • Neglecting the practice of giving thanks darkens my thoughts and can easily defeat me.

    GratitudePumpkines

    from Jesus Calling

I pray this day of thanksgiving is full of joy for you and those you love. 

I am thankful for each reader who chooses to spend a few minutes with me each time I write.

JoyMartell

Leave a Reply

