SEND

Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. 

SEND

In the middle of December my swollen knees were seriously interfering with life – unable to exercise, pain at night, etc. Finally got an appointment to have them drained. When my orthopedist saw them, he asked his nurse to bring two more tubes to catch the liquid. He thought he would need the extras because they were so swollen.

In the end he drained off 22cc of fluid from each knee. And then he said, “Your family should send you to Florida for three months!”

What a great idea! I love the beach, winter or summer. When I told my husband, he thought a minute and said, “We might be able to do three days.”

I’ll take it! It takes us about 7 or 8 hours to drive to south Alabama to the beaches on the Gulf of Mexico, but I haven’t been in too many years. So Larry didn’t send me, but we went together for just a lovely time in January.

We watched the weather predictions and changed our reservations once – I had a sinus infection, and the weather down south was rainy and chilly.

Unbeknownst (yes, this is a word) to us, we arrived in Orange Beach the first full week in January — the beginning of the “snowbird” season. As we people-watched, everyone we saw was gray headed, in other words, our age!

The first morning I thought we would sleep in, but how can you miss this sunrise?

Sunrise.1

Sunrise.2Sunrise.3Sunrise..4

Today I thank God for

  • my doctor’s idea of sending me to Florida
  • a husband’s gift of riding in a small car for hours (he’s a tall guy and our little HHR cramps his legs)
  • beautiful weather when the low in Nashville was 3°
  • the soothing sounds of waves outside our windows

JoyMartell

 

4 thoughts on “SEND

  1. unspeakablejoymccoy

    Wow, beautiful pictures. I love seeing God’s sunrises and sunsets. How amazing that you were able to be sent to a relaxing place to recover. May God continue to heal you. Blessings, Carrie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

