Love the Home You Have

I’m inspired today to write about a topic found in another blog’s challenge. Melissa MIchaels has just published a book about loving our home and challenged others to write about the little ways we can improve our spaces.LoveHomeYouHave.1

I learned to appreciate living plants from my mother and my Grandma Johnson. They both loved to grow African violets but their windowsills and nooks held many other types of plants.

My favorite way to freshen up my home in the spring is to fill up the front porch with plants and flowers for as little money as possible. Some years are more successful than others, but this year I’m thrilled about my one geranium plant.Fullgeranium

Over the winter it has flourished —– no blooms but great foliage. At summer’s end only one main stem remained and the whole plant tended to lean to one side.  AfterpruningI staked it with a strip of cloth and a stick and then put it in the best light available (north) , and basically forgot about it. I usually remembered to water it once a week which seemed to suit this plant just fine.

Today I did some plant surgery to get some more geraniums for free. I should have done this weeks ago, but we had a hard freeze last week and I wasn’t as motivated!New cutting

I took  two cuttings from new green growth, stripped off the lower leaves and little suckers, put them in some good potting soil ($4 at Dollar General Store), and stuck them in front of a window.Pruning

plantedNewgrowth.2We’ll have to wait and see how these little guys do, but this week we’ve got great temperatures. My spring porch is crying out for some lovin’!

Growing plants indoors or out gives me a connection to God’s creation. Even if the pollen count is too high for me to work in the yard, I can still enjoy the fruits of good soil, the right amount of sunlight, and water.

I am thankful for God’s creation and His plan for growth and seasons. It fills a spot in my creative soul.

JoyMartell

One thought on “Love the Home You Have

Leave a Reply

