HIDE

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited.

 

I have a beautiful book on my coffee table by Joni Eareckson Tada, Holiness in Hidden Places. Her exquisite art work of nature appears throughout the book. Every time I look at the pages I’m reminded of her physical limitations; she creates masterpieces with a brush or pencil in her mouth. Her courage, patience, and perseverance along with God’s grace allowed her talent to blossom, not hide. HOliness.2

Look closely at the detail, texture, and shading that convince you this little bird could chirp any minute! I think of my small limitations in comparison to hers and feel ashamed of my complaints and excuses. Joni’s work inspires me to press on to explore, create, and allow God to work through me. HOliness.3

And then there is the message she brings to the pages. This book explores finding holiness in places you least expect it. I’m reminded that God’s power and majesty are found every day in nature, but if I take the time to go deeper I’ll find even more.

If you’ve been feeling empty or parched in your soul, It may seem as though God is hiding from you, but I assure you He is not. Look for Him in the calm below the surface. In the depths of the sea you find calm, quiet, and gentle swaying.

God waits for us to find Him in the quiet and gentle. Seek the Father by diving deeper into His heart.

Joni’s book was published in 1999, but you can still find it on Amazon. Click on the link in the book title.

Today I thank God for

  • warriors of faith like Joni who walk with the Father through seemingly impossible challenges.
  • Your faithfulness, Your grace, Your mercy.
  • challenging me to seek You through the storms of my life.

JoyMartell

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “HIDE

  1. bethannayersjohnson

    Thank you for your encouraging words that God is not hiding from us! I too enjoy Joni’s beautiful artwork and especially love this photo of the bird in her nest!
    Bethann

    Reply
  2. Carrie

    What a beautiful book! And yes, you are quite right! God is all around us! We just need to look for Him. I have always enjoyed admiring creation and there is something so surreal about it that brings me closer to Him. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

