BEYOND DREAMS

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited.

 

 DREAM

fIRST thoughts.2Ephesians 3:20

God is able to do more than we can ever ask for or imagine.     

 I never dreamed about my retirement years. I loved teaching too much; the challenge of reaching my students became my ministry, my passion. Even on holidays and summer break I continued to make plans, create lessons, design units of study.

After age 60 I told people I would continue teaching as long as it was fun. Which meant, only as long as I enjoyed the challenge and felt somewhat successful would I continue to teach.DMSawards

And then in 2010 the fun was gone; I couldn’t see improvement in my students. By October I knew it was time to go. I told my principal I hoped I could make it to Christmas.

In retirement I have found opportunities I did not expect: time for relaxing, reading, and writing this blog, ways to minister and give mercy, a space and supplies to create in a variety of ways – even opportunity to teach some teens and pre-teens art.

I’ve found a group of prayer warriors who circle round each other each Wednesday night to pray for others and those among us in need. These women have battled cancer and other diseases that hover close when we reach our sixties and seventies. Some have become caregivers for their child or husband or other relatives.   Together their collective wisdom can address most any crisis with a compassionate spirit of encouragement. Just this week, instead of spending half the hour in prayer we spent the whole hour praying for each other and others we knew.

SewingHandsThe other thing about these women that challenges me is how many ways they minister to others, from collecting supplies to fill backpacks in the fall, organizing toiletry supplies for the homeless in the winter, preparing and delivering food to many in need, fundraising for a women’s shelter, visiting assisted living homes, sewing and crocheting items to send to Haiti, Honduras, and Africa. I’m leaving out more of their good works. They are widows, single mothers, married with grandchildren, black and white, who welcome all who enter our class.ChloLucy

I’ve also found a beautiful deep well of riches of spirituality from writers and bloggers. Women I’ve never met, except through their writing, have stirred my heart, challenged my thinking, opened my mind, and given me dreams to share my story and my writing.

The verse in Ephesians from the Amplified Bible says this about what God can do: far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]

Today I thank God for

  • the blessings I have found in retirement
  • Wednesday night prayer warriors
  • His power that is at work in us
  • writers and bloggers with hearts dedicated to their Father

JoyMartell

Confession: I began this in morning and when I came back to at 7:30 P.M. it turned into a blog much longer than five minutes!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “BEYOND DREAMS

  1. Therese Williams

    JoyMartel,

    Thanks so much for sharing such strengthening words!

    Miss you,

    Therese

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
  2. Lisa Cooper

    Hi friend,
    If you had not retired, our paths would probably not have crossed. And I am so glad they did!
    Many blessings,
    Lisa

    Reply
  3. Ariete Pieterse

    Hello, Dropping in from FMF. I missed the deadline when my Friday became Saturday, due to real life interrupting my writing but I decided to see what the rest of you had written. So lovely to read about your group of warrior women and things accomplished despite all the personal challenges.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

