HOPE

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited.

fIRST thoughts

HOPE

Hope is the thing with feathers

That perches in the soul –

And sings the tune without the words

And never stops – at all –
Emily Dickerson
I love this word HOPE. It reminds me of butterflies and our daughter, Jennifer. And then this afternoon, there it is; this year’s first gorgeous butterfly enjoying my purple cone flowers.

Butterfly.Purple

Without hope, what do we have? How desolate and despairing is this world if there is no hope?

In Romans 8, Paul addresses hope as This Hope.

“For in This Hope we were saved. But Hope that is Seen is no hope at all.”

And then he asks this challenging question: “Who hopes for what they already have?”

And his answer? “But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently. In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.”   Romans 8: 24-26

I am thankful today for

  • the hope our Father gave us through His Son.
  • butterflies on my flowers in July
  • Scripture truths that encourage, enrich, and challenge me.
  • the Spirit’s intercession for me when I don’t even know what to say.

JoyMartell

I knew I forgot a tenth item for my Summer Bucket List —-

4th of July fireworks out in the country! So here’s what we enjoyed.Fireworks Fireworks.2

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

