She Speaks

SheSpeaksslideA big Summer Bucket List item fulfilled this past weekend.

I was in blog/writer bliss for two full days at the She Speaks Conference by Proverbs 31 ministry.

I joined 800 other women at the Embassy Suites in Concord, NC for this amazing weekend. I confess I did not know much about Proverbs 31 ministry — I’ve looked at their website a few times, but never hooked into all the online Bible studies they create. I love their commitment to the study of the Bible.

This was the right place for me —- hallways were filled with resources, (you know: books, jewelry, makeover people and a notebook for the program)! My notes say it all; if I’m highlighting and writing in the margins I’m finding good advice and info to meet my needs.Resources

LisaJoB

Lisa-Jo Baker

One of my favorite bloggers, Lisa-Jo Baker, author of Surprised by Motherhood, had a session entitled, “From Blog to Book Deal”. She is just as real as her writing, and she did it without Powerpoint. Just a few notes and her phone. But did I learn lots! Find her blog here.

Lysa Terkeurst is the President of Proverbs 31; she gave a keynote the first morning and an introduction to the brand-new app, First 5. The idea is a originally came from First 15, giving God the first 15 minutes of your day. You can read about it from this link. The First 5 app will wake you with a 5 minute Bible Study, then on your own, spend 5 minutes in prayer, and then 5 minutes in worship or song.

Lysa Terkeurst

Lysa Terkeurst

Love this Sticky Statement from her:

Stay in Alignment 

with His Assignment

And what is a Sticky Statement? Those things that stick with you after reading/hearing them. Of course if I don’t write them down, they don’t stick in my brain. I’m not an auditory learner!

Check out the First 5 app here. You set the alarm on the app so it will wake you every morning. Except, since retirement I’ve quit setting an alarm. Maybe I should?

I met women from all over the country (and outside the country), all ages, sizes, and in all stages of life. I heard fascinating stories of women in extreme circumstances, still able to find joy. I even found people with the same diet restrictions as I; some have even more issues than I. We waited together one day at lunch while the staff made up some box lunches just for us!

We exchanged business cards, addresses, or phone numbers. And we took pictures of everything. The conference knows their stuff about social media and set up places in the lobbies for just that purpose. As a first-timer I’m not even sure I knew what some of it was.1stDay But I knew this one was for pics. And the bicycle? Didn’t hear an explanation but it made me think of Tsh Oxenreider’s book, Notes From a Blue Bicycle.

I was thrilled to hear a speaker who is also a prolific writer (and closer to my age), Liz Curtis Higgs lives in Louisville, but I felt like I knew her from her Youtube videos. Look for her rap of Bad Girls of the Bible! She pokes fun at herself and self-righteousness. I can’t wait to read the book she signed for me. IMG_2419

This was like Country Music week in Nashville when people stand in line to get star autographs and then go to their concerts. Course, I’m a book nerd and love to hear and meet writers.

I thank God for

  • safe travels
  • good health
  • air conditioning (92% humidity!)
  • opportunities to tell my story to interested women
  • a filled up bucket of inspiration, motivation, and ideas
  • the staff at Proverbs 31

JoyMartell

Leave a Reply

