TRY

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited.

                                                  TRY

One of the best teaching tips I learned while teaching middle schoolers with special needs involved the word try. Teaching students with limited abilities requires buckets of patience. While sitting with a small group of students as they work on fine motor skills, it’s so tempting to say, “No, that’s not right. Try again.”
Instead you say, “Try another way. See if it will fit another way.” Same word, same task, but different perspective. “Try another way” pushes the student to look for an alternative. “Try again” sends the unspoken message of keep doing it the same way, and you’ll make it.
Young children need the same encouragement. In fact most teaching situations can benefit from this message.
Try this with your children when they are frustrated with a task, whether it’s folding  laundry or cleaning the kitchen.
Maybe that’s the message we need to hear when asking God to heal a sickness, or to solve a difficult situation.
Changing our perspective can reveal an answer we did not even know was available.

I am thankful today for

  • the Father who is patient with our requests.
  • the Spirit who intercedes for us through wordless groans.
  • the Son who did the unexpected and became flesh to give us Hope.

and . . . listening to Lisa-Jo Baker a week ago describe her process of turning a blog into a book and then a five minute writing exercise with a roomful of other writers!

JoyMartell

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “TRY

  1. Julia Putzke

    Hi Joy–visiting from five minute Friday 🙂 having cerebral palsy I know all too well what is like wanting to try to do something in the way someone told me. I get frustrated when it doesn’t come out that way, or the expectation I hold for myself to be perfect. That never works though. I never think of there being another way. I want one, but I don’t always believe there is one. I love what you said about Jesus being patient with us and the wordless groans He intercedes for us. He is the other way.

    Thank you for sharing this. ❤️

    Reply
  2. Janet

    I enjoyed this – it’s amazing how changing one word in a phrase can so radically change the message. I’ll bet you have many tidbits from your teaching experience… Big smiles and I hope you have a wonderful weekend. PS, I’m #32 at FMF – I liked your title and the name of your blog, so was compelled to come for a visit. I’m glad I did.

    Reply
  3. moreatforty

    Visiting from FMF. Love this message and even though I’m a Communication Studies instructor, I’ve never considered the message of “Try Again” meaning “do the same thing, again”. Such an important difference. I will definitely be changing my language this year. Thanks for the message!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

