Day 2: Sink Into The Word

BrownCrossEach day of prayer in this series (after today) will contain a Scripture for prayer. What better way to pray than to use inspired words?

When I think of prayers that have comforted me during difficult times, my mind immediately pulls up favorite Psalms. David, a man after God’s own heart, prayed in joyful times and in times of great despair. His heart pours out the deepest pain of a parent losing a child, his anguish over sin, and then rejoices as he remembers God’s blessings.

I’ve the Psalms for this series but also from several places in the Old and New Testament; these Scriptures are my targeted prayer strategies.

Day 1 prepared me to find the quiet space inside my head, to calm my thoughts. Now let’s sink into the Word. The Scripture on the daily cards are usually from the New International Version but modified just a bit. In Paul’s New Testament prayer for the Ephesians he addresses the reader as “you”. I’m turning the pronoun into first person so that it becomes my prayer to God.

For example, in Ephesians 1:17 Paul writes:

May the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.

I’ve changed the pronoun “you” in the verse to read:

May the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, give me the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that I may know him better.

I pray that you can sink into His Word daily by learning to abide in His holy words. I find the words from Chris Tomlin’s song, “At the Cross (Your Love Ran Red)” helpful to prepare my whole body to pray.

“Here I bow down, here I bow down,

Here arms open wide . . .”3.Guide

Click this link to see the free prints of the first four cards from Day 1 and Day 1:  DAY1.2Cards

Today I thank my God for

  • moments of quiet to abide,
  • speaking through holy words, penned by Your chosen men.

JoyMartell

One thought on “Day 2: Sink Into The Word

  1. Pingback: Day 1: Prepare Heart, Mind, and Body | Counting Joy Blog

Leave a Reply

