Day 5: Insight and Discernment

BrownCrossI’m writing every day in October about prayer, specifically prayers that honor and give glory to God. Click on the cross on the right side of the screen on the website to begin with Day 1.

In Days 3, 4, and 5 we consider prayers by Paul to:

 Increase My Understanding

This prayer found in chapter one of Philippians asks God for specific guidance. I’ve highlighted in blue the specifics I think are important to notice.7.Phil.1

First, I ask God to grow my love so that it is deeper in practical insight and knowledge. Don’t know about you, but I can’t remember asking God to give me insight. See, this is why I need this series!

Second, why do I need more insight and knowledge? . . . so that I can discern what is best. The Amplified Bible says discern means to recognize and treasure what is excellent. Knowing is not enough; true discernment will enable me to distinguish moral differences.

Third, . . . and be pure and blameless for the coming of Christ. Because I have put on Christ and belong to Him, I know that I can never be pure and blameless without Him. Living everyday with His blood cleansing me washes my sin.

Fourth, Lord, fill me with the fruit of righteous (good things that are produced in me by Christ). We know the fruit of the Spirit from Galatians 5:22: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. I need these everyday! Even when I’ve felt joy or peace or patience in the morning, very likely I’ll need them even more in the afternoon. Thus, I need to pray this every morning. image

Are you printing off your cards each day? If you haven’t, you can click click here to get all the documents so far. 

I’m thankful for

  • the fruit of the Spirit 
  • knowing that God will give me greater understanding and insight. I just need to ask.

JoyMartell

Leave a Reply

