Day 15: JEHOVAH-SHALOM

BrownCrossPraying the Names of God

SHALOM, the Lord is my Peace

Judges 6

Times were not good for the Israelites. The Midianites invaded their land for seven years. Their crops and homes were destroyed; many ran to safety in the mountains and caves.

God sent a prophet to remind the Israelites they had not listened to Him. Then the Angel of the LORD sat down near the place where Gideon worked. He told Gideon that the LORD was with him, even called him a mighty warrior.

I love Gideon’s response: “Pardon me, my Lord, but if the Lord is with us why has all this happened to us?”

I get that! I’ve felt that way.

Gideon asked the LORD to give him a sign that he was really talking to the Angel of the LORD. The angel gave Gideon several tasks to complete to show him this angel truly was from God. In verses 22 and 23 we see Gideon’s new understanding:

When Gideon realized that it was the angel of the Lord, he exclaimed, “Alas, Sovereign Lord! I have seen the angel of the Lord face to face!”

 But the Lord said to him, “Peace! Do not be afraid. You are not going to die.”

Read the whole chapter to get the details of this story. But the end result is that Gideon built an altar to God and called it “The LORD is peace.”

15.SHALOM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 I am thankful for God’s peace in my life.  When

  • chaos and evil abound,
  • the news is filled with murder, shootings, kidnappings
  • my heart is filled with conflicting emotions

I know my peace comes from Jehovah-Shalom.

JoyMartell

I’m writing every day in October about prayer, specifically prayers that honor and give glory to God. Click here to begin with Day 1You can click on the cards above to print them, or click here to get the documents containing all the cards in this series.

Leave a Reply

