Day 25: He Will Sing Over Me

BrownCrossPraying God’s Promises

“The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.” 

Zephaniah 3:17 (NIV)

HE WILL SING OVER ME

The Mighty Warrior, Yahweh, takes delight in me. And you. He rejoices over us with joy. The Amplified Version says He will be quiet in His love and MAKE NO MENTION OF MY PAST SINS!

This image of a warrior who sings does not quite fit in with 21st century warriors. This Father, who saves me like a warrior in battle, takes tender loving care of me and will be joyful with singing. Some versions say He rejoices with shouts, or loud singing.

This image of God makes Him active in my life, not just sitting on a throne and watching or pulling strings like a puppet master. The image I want to keep in my head, in my prayers, is the Hero in my story. He comes to my rescue, fearless in the battle against Satan.

The lyrics of a song by Dennis Jernigan always come to me when I read this verse. If you’ve never heard it, click here. It will stick with you.

When the night is falling

And the day is done

I can hear you calling, “Come”

I will come while You sing over me.

How I love you, child I love you.

25.SingovermeI am thankful for my God, the Mighty Warrior, and His promise to love me without criticism and to sing over me.

JoyMartell

I’m writing every day in October about prayer, specifically prayers that honor and give glory to God. Click here to begin with Day 1You can click on the cards above to print them, or click here to get the documents containing all the cards in this series.

Leave a Reply

