Day 27: No One Understands

BrownCrossPraying God’s Promises

. . . the devout are taken away, and no one understands that the righteous are taken away to be spared from evil.

Those who walk uprightly enter into peace; they find rest as they lie in death.

Isaiah 57:1,2 (NIV)

I found this passage in Isaiah during my early days of grief. I keep it in front of me as I work at my desk. I made a bookmark with Jennifer’s picture and carried it in my Bible for a long time. These verses bring me comfort, hope.Creek

“Hope is what holds a breaking heart together.” Ann Voskamp

When I wrote yesterday’s post, I knew I would follow it with this one. The passage from Day 26 leaves me still questioning God; this passage in Isaiah helps me put our daughter’s death in perspective.

Read it from the New Century Version:

. . . Good people are taken away, but on one understands.

Those who do right are being taken away from evil and are given peace.

Those who live as God wants find rest in death.27.FindRestI am thankful for Your promise to give rest to those who do what is right.

JoyMartell

I’m writing every day in October about prayer, specifically prayers that honor and give glory to God. Click here to begin with Day 1You can click on the cards above to print them, or click here to get the documents containing all the cards in this series.

Leave a Reply

