Day 31:Mary’s Song

BrownCrossPraying God’s Promises

The last day of 31 Days of Prayer!

I hope you have found a little help with your prayers of praise, of adoration, recognizing the qualities and names of God. As a writing practice, I found if to be a great discipline. As a Bible student, each day required digging deeper into the Word and myself. I look forward to using my prayer cards consistently (since the writing and creating process are now complete).

image

MARY’S SONG   (THE MAGNIFICAT)

I saved the longest prayer for today – Luke 1. Mary sang or prayed this beautiful praise to the Lord after her cousin, Elizabeth declared that God had blessed her more than any other woman.

This prayer is part of the Catholic and Greek liturgy as a hymn and a prayer. Bach, Mozart, and others created musical pieces for orchestra and voice based on this Scripture, Luke 1:46-55.

More contemporary pieces have been written using these words in recent years. I heard the word “Magnificat” used in my church’s worship service for the first time when we sang Randy Gill’s composition for a capella voices. Listen to this version by the Zoe Group, which uses the first few verses of the passage.

As you read this prayer, notice the number of elements included in just one prayer. We see God as All Powerful, All Mighty, Provider, the God who sees, merciful, holy, faithful, and His promises. For 31 days we have considered and reflected all of these attributes of God.

I used the New Century Version below with a little editing to make it personal.

Luke 1:46-55

My soul praises the Lord;

my heart rejoices in God my Savior,

because he has shown his concern for his humble servant.

All people will say that I am blessed,

because the Powerful One has done great things for me.

His name is holy.

God will show his mercy forever and ever

to those who worship and serve him.

He has done mighty deeds by his power.

He has scattered the people who are proud

and think great things about themselves.

He has brought down rulers from their thrones 

and raised up the humble.

He has filled the hungry with good things

and sent the rich away with nothing.

He has helped his servant, the people of Israel,

remembering to show them mercy 

as he promised to our ancestors,

to Abraham and to his children forever.”31.MySoul.2

I am thankful for this 31 day journey of contemplation of Yahweh.

JoyMartell

I’m writing every day in October about prayer, specifically prayers that honor and give glory to God. Click here to begin with Day 1You can click on the cards above to print them, or click here to get the documents containing all the cards in this series.

One thought on “Day 31:Mary’s Song

Leave a Reply

