Shall we dance?

Finally, back to Five Minute Friday writing after 31 Days in October!

Joining FMF today with Kate Motuang. A community of bloggers write from a one-word topic for 5 minutes. We writing teachers call it a “writing prompt”.

TODAY’S WORD IS dance.

I don’t know how to dance.

Ask anyone over 50 (or maybe 40) who grew up in the Church of Christ if they can dance. Probably 85-90% will say no. It is a fact that we are known for our unique disability – rhythmless. As a general rule we have no rhythm.

Dancing was one of the major items on the “Do not participate in these” List because it will lead to even worse sins, in this case, sex.

I bring this up, not to debate the right or wrong of dancing. It just has to be said as my reality.

I grew up learning the words and music of all the classic Broadway musicals: Camelot, The Sound of Music, My Fair Lady, South Pacific, The King and I.

I learned to play this piece on the piano, “Shall We Dance?” It just makes you want to move with memories of the teacher’s huge ball gown flying around the room.Celebrate

One of my favorite country songs is “I Hope You Dance” by Lee Ann Womack. That is the message for me when I think of dance.  Take advantage of every moment, every blessing, every challenge and participate. Not sit on the sidelines, dressed in a beautiful dress, watching. I’ve done that literally and figuratively.

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
GOD forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens.
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

It takes courage sometimes. Other times it takes the willingness to take a risk.

Grab a hand, hold a toddler, or just let yourself go and move to the music you hear NOW.

I am thankful for memories of being in the moment with family, with Jennifer, with learning to be grateful for ALL things.

JoyMartell

One thought on “Shall we dance?

  1. khatting

    Beautiful. Yep. Had a rough day, but after writing for 5 minutes and reading about it, I definitely feel more in the mood to not sit it out, but dance 🙂 – Kat from FMF

    Reply

Leave a Reply

