BLESSING

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited. Today’s word is one I choose. 

BLESSING

I’m reading Ann Voskamp’s book, The Greatest Gift, at my own pace which means I’m way behind on the correct day of Advent. This book illuminates God’s plan from the very Beginning of time – the plan to send His Son to earth.TheGreatestGif

When God called Abraham to a new country, He promised to bless Abraham. Here’s the simple idea from Ann’s unique writing: the order of grace . . .

  • The personal blessings envelop you first. Then you are the blessing sent to the world.
  • You must feel the fullness of your own pitcher before you trust the pouring out of yourself.

I must first be aware of God’s blessings for me – all of them, even when I have to search them out. Last week I wrote in my “Thanks Journal” that I’m thankful for:

  • a bed to sleep on – even if it is uncomfortable
  • legs and hips that can feel the bed – even if my knees are hurting

I have a dear mentor and friend, Nila, who is dying from cancer. But she has blessed her Bible class by continuing to teach every Sunday with the help of oxygen, a wheelchair, and a small team to get her to church. Each of us are blessed by her strength, courage, and faith in God.

I was blessed to sit with her a few hours one afternoon. Blessed to share conversation with her sister, catching up with each others’ lives.

And then these words, again from Ann:

Only when you are overwhelmed with the goodness of God can you overflow with the goodness of God to others. (p. 41)

CupofTeaToday I am thankful for this season of blessings:

  • children reading or reciting verses in a Christmas program
  •  sharing food with God’s family 
  • Christmas tree finally decorated
  • a cup of hot spice tea

JoyMartell

 

 

 

 

One thought on “BLESSING

Leave a Reply

