First, I Thank My God

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited.

When I spent a year memorizing Romans 1, 8, and 12 I found the riches of dwelling with the Word. I thought of this verse from the first chapter of Romans when I saw today’s writing prompt:

First I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you for your faith is being reported all over the world.    Romans 1:8

After Paul lists his credentials and then addresses the church with a greeting from “God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ”, he thanks God for their faith. I consider it high praise from Paul that he recognized the faith of these Christians who faced danger for the sake of Christ.hollyberries

How comforting and assuring his letter must have been for these Christians! He affirms them over and over in the chapters of this letter.

If I hoped to have a giant in the Christian world recognize me, would I want to be remembered for my faith? I don’t think it is the first thing that comes to mind, but is it not the most important? If I faced the dangers the church in Rome faced, wouldn’t faith carry me through?

Because without faith, I could not have hope.

Without trust, I would not have faith.

Birdintree

Early Thursday morning a dear friend and mentor passed over into the promised land. She fought a long battle with cancer while continuing to teach a Bible class every Sunday. Her faith was deep, rooted and grounded in God’s Word. Her lessons were filled with the Word. We studied Hebrews until the middle of December when she could no longer teach.

Our path have crossed many times throughout my life, but I shall never forget the evening we learned of our Jennifer’s death. The first people through our door were Nila and Jerry.

Nila had a lot of time to think about her funeral, and she let people know her wishes. I can’t wait for her celebration of faith this Sunday night.

Today my thanks are these:

  • First, I thank God for Nila’s faith. It was reported throughout our community.
  • I thank God for the women in Nila’s class; they are prayer warriors for the sick, the bereaved, the weary, the dying, the suffering.

JoyMartell

 

One thought on “First, I Thank My God

  1. Barry Boettcher

    Hi there, Was Nila the woman who taught the class we were in during our visit in September?  I remember you said she had been fighting cancer for several years. We are truly sorry to hear of her passing.  We just learned tonight that our great nephew (17 yrs) in California, passed away this afternoon after a two yearbattle with an aggressive cancer.  Chris is Marie and Paul’s grandson (Barry’s sister).  They are both in the Promised Land now and loving it.Please take care.Love,  Karen We enjoy your blogs Martell.  You are a very talented woman of God.  I so admire you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

