QUIET: Just Enough

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited.

When life is filled with voices: arguing commentators, politicians, and even social media: recent emails, texts, and Facebook messages “silently” clamoring for attention, QUIET feels far away, distant, a dream.

A roomful of preschoolers or 8th graders demand the same amount of attention with varying amounts of noise. QUIET entices me, invites me to walk away, finding peace in a hot tub full of bubbles.

But I’ve learned that just as I can yearn for a peaceful quiet, sometimes I have too much. My mother reminded me of this when our daughter was a preschooler. My father died when he was only 56, and her adjustment to life alone did not come easily. She came to Nashville not long after his death for a visit; I complained to her about the busyness of my life – mother, wife, Special Ed. teacher, ministry leader at church. She told me her QUIET brought loneliness, longing for her best friend.

I’ve learned that I need QUIET to write and study, but sometimes when Larry is working on a long hours at a video production, I’ll turn on the television or radio just to have a little noise.

Balance – finding the “sweet spot” of quiet and noise in life can feel impossible sometimes. I think of several nieces with a houseful of littles; I know they have days when they don’t have any QUIET because they are never alone!

The beautiful quiet of our 8 inch snow.

The beautiful quiet of our 8 inch snow.

I pray for moms of tots: may you find some QUIET in each day just for yourself.

I pray for the lonely who long for a friendly voice on the phone.

I pray for all the children who need QUIET in their lives.

I pray we all learn how to push away from screens and noise to find some QUIET.

Jesus knew when He needed to get away because He left the crowds to be alone.

Today I am thankful for

  • a house large enough to have my own space for writing and study.
  • a husband who loves to make noise.
  • days when I have just enough QUIET and just enough noise.

JoyMartell

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “QUIET: Just Enough

  1. Kristina

    I want to begin by praising the prayer at the end. It should be handed out to mothers before they leave the hospital with their newborns.

    You’re right. The balance needs to be sought. Right now I crave silence, but when I get it, I find myself filling the silence with music, meaningless babble, and so much more. Thank you for helping me realize that it is both silence and noise that I seek.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

