FORGET

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited.

I love to read decorating blogs, look at decorating magazines, browse Pinterest, collect books with ideas for making over old furniture.

I’m also a collector of too many things because I might find a way to use them. Since I read Marie Kondo’s book, the life-changing magic of tidying up, I’m trying to follow her one rule — Does it spark joy? See my post here on my decluttering in January.

Many of the blogs I follow emphasize “less is more”, clean surfaces, and enjoying the home you have not the one you wish you had. So my kitchen counters I looking better these days with less clutter.

But my office – this place upstairs where I write and create as well as study and meditate, not so good. I have things on my walls, above my desk and stacks of books and journals on my desk. Because I FORGET.

I forget the big idea from my Scripture, I forget to trust, I forget my goal for the book I’m writing. I reorganize and cleanup, especially when I finish a project or begin a new one. But I need visual reminders around me. I made a prayer list after watching The War Room. I put up the words to familiar old hymns we seldom sing anymore. I need a big rock to remind me to put my trust in God.banner of hymn

IMG_0665

Finger labrynith and important phrases

Finger labyrinth and important phrases 

Here’s the other thing I’ve learned. If I leave these reminders up too long, they become wallpaper. I fail to see them because my eye just slides over them as it slides over the wallpaper border. When I get in one my cleaning, decluttering moods, I move them around or change them.

Today I am thankful for

  • the gift of memory, especially as I get older
  • my God who does not forget

JoyMartell

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “FORGET

  1. E Adams Wright

    Joy, I have also had the experience of having what once helped me remember become “wall paper,” and not noticed, with the passage of time. Great idea to move around regularly, the things that we want or need to give attention. Visiting from FMF. Blessings.

    Reply
  2. livingmyportion

    I too know what you mean by putting things up as reminders and then they just become part of the clutter. I have post-it notes with verses that I don’t even glance at now. Thank you for the reminder that I need to notice them more. Visiting from FMF. Blessings.

    Reply
  3. daffodilsandcoffee

    I have lists everywhere to remind me of things I want to remember – whether it’s to-do lists, Bible verses, prayer lists, or quotes I love. My fridge is cluttered with stuff. Everyone who looks at it would probably think it’s too messy, but I love it this way. Have a great week, Joy.

    Lynette
    ~#89 this wk

    Reply
  4. Kate Motaung

    It’s true, that we fail to notice the things that have been there for a while. Good idea to move them around! So glad you joined us for another week of FMF! Hope you’re doing well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

