MISS

I stand in the store dressing room, taking garments off hangers, and I hear, “Mom?”

countingjoyblog.wordpressFor just a moment I think I hear Jennifer; the voice sounds just like hers. But just 24 hours ago we had a phone call telling us she died from a fall while hiking. 

I don’t crumble to the floor in tears; there is a funeral to plan, funeral clothes to buy.

That voice still haunts my memory. That is the moment I knew I would never hear her say “Mom” again.

Mother’s Day comes right on the heels of her last day on earth in April. So I especially miss her on Mother’s Day.

Mothers without daughterscountingjoyblog.wordpress

During those first dreadful days of sorrow in April I longed for my mother. One of my brothers said later that he was so glad that Mama did not live to experience those days.

But I needed her! Only she could truly grasp this aching loss. She died when Jennifer was 13 years old, so I had eight years to accept the status of a motherless daughter before I lost my daughter.

Mama and Jennifer

Mama and Jennifer

Each of the six women in my Girlfriend Circle have experienced the loss of our mothers. We are the older generation in our families. When did this happen?

Something deep within us still longs for that bond, that connection with our mother that has been severed.

Joining the Five Minute Friday community of bloggers today with a one word prompt. With a one word prompt we write for five minutes, unedited. Check them out here.

Today I am thankful for the 21 years Jennifer lived. She brought so much joy to so many people. You can read more of her story here.

I am thankful for the close relationship Mama and I experienced and for her life of service in the Kingdom. You can read more of her story serving as a medical missionary in Africa here.

I pray for those who miss their mothers this year on Mother’s Day. Lisa-Jo Baker has a beautiful post here, “When You Still Need Your Mom and She’s Not There Anymore.”

JoyMartell

3 thoughts on “MISS

  1. Natasha

    Joy, what a beautiful name! Your post brought tears to my eyes. Both your mom and daughter would be so proud of you and how you have come through this. I am blessed that we have connected via FMF. A Blessed Mother’s Day to you!!! xxx

    Reply
  2. Belinda Miller

    Wow!! Beautiful words from you and Lisa-Jo Baker. I’m crying but words are so true.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

