EXPECT

May in Middle Tennessee blooms with Knockout Roses and azaleas. I’ve had my share blooming in our front yard, but those flowers have turned brown. Peonies take the spotlight next, but I don’t have any peony bushes. If you’ve lived in the South long enough I expect you know some folks call these pee-own-ees.

Joining the Five Minute Friday community with a one word prompt. We write for five minutes (I confess, I’m not so good at the time limit), post it, and then link up over at Kate’s blog.Five-Minute-Friday.1

Today’s rain just adds more to our lush, green May. Rain that gives us more shades of green than you expect. Greens that make me itch to grab a paintbrush to try and duplicate God’s creation – not that I’m any kind of painter.

countingjoyblog

The deep green shadows over the fence look mysterious, and the newly mowed grass reflects the crop of weeds in our backyard.

countingjoyblog

When I covered most of this flowerbed with black landscape fabric weeks ago I didn’t expect the hostas to survive. Surprise to me! They came up anyway. Their lush variegated greens look best in this month only. I expect the hot sun of summer to bleach and curl their leaves.

Last summer I expected my only hydrangea bush to bloom as well as it did the year before. Alas, not a bloom!countingjoyblog

But this year? You can see I’m expecting blooms. It is full of healthy leaves, and I can’t wait to see what colors the blooms will be when they appear later this summer.

God’s creation is full of promise every spring; if you plant flowers or vegetables, you expect results. But there is no guarantee, just as there is not guarantee that we will have happiness, job security, good health. Plants need the right care – sun, rain, nutrients.

Life requires tender care in much the same way. I know I’m at my best when I spend time each day with the Father, in His Word, in prayer, in meditation – tending the seeds of my heart. I expect Him to meet me there – He promises to be with us.

I am thankful for the many shades of green I can see from my windows.

I thank God for His never failing promises. I can expect His presence!

JoyMartell

2 thoughts on “EXPECT

  1. Laura C. Robb

    I love the green of spring and the bright flowers! Great analogy in your post, especially when you bring it down to an applicable lesson at the end.

    P.S. We’re FMF neighbors!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

