A Song of Lament for these days

 During my darkest days of grief I found the laments in the book of Psalms poured out emotions similar to my own. I’ve been studying the book of Psalms this week, preparing for Bible lessons I’ll teach later this summer. Since the laments were helpful to me, I wanted to learn more about them. Almost half of Psalms are psalms of lament; I learned they follow a pattern.

  1. Introductory cry or addressing God
  2. Complaint – pouring out trouble
  3. Trust in God
  4. Request for deliverance
  5. Assurance that God will deliver
  6. Praise – recognizing what God can do

Recent events across our country compel me to try to express the sorrow we feel as a nation.

O, God!

Listen to your children!

Our hearts are broken from violent death.

Our black young men are bleeding and dying in t;he streets.

Our police officers are bleeding and dying in the streets.

Wives and husbands,  mothers and fathers, brothers and sisters,

Children, friends are weeping tonight for those who were killed.

How long O Lord?

We put our trust in Yahweh,

We put our trust in the Savior,

We put our trust in the Comforter, the Holy Spirit!

Jehovah Rophe, our Healer!

Deliver us Lord from evil.

You know the hearts of each of us.

Give us pure hearts to look past anger and fear.

Give us clear minds, seeking solutions.

You are the mighty One, the Deliverer.

We praise You God.

You give us just what we need.CountingJoyblog

My resource on laments come from The Wisdom of God by Nancy Guthrie.

I found helpful links on these two blogs:

Emily P. Freeman and Annie F. Downs

I am thankful for peacemakers who bring people together during times of stress.

I am thankful for leaders who call us to faith, hope, and love.

I am thankful for all first responders who risk their lives to protect, defend, and give aid to those in need.

JoyMartell

Leave a Reply

