LIFT

THOU O Lord, are the lifter of my head.  Psalm 3:3

This lament is embedded into my soul; when I hear this verse, the words to a song by this title begins to play in my head. (This is the version we sing at my church. Listen to it as you read.)

I asked our song leader to lead it at Jennifer’s funeral . The words remind me that no matter how far down my head sinks, no matter how sad my heart breaks, no matter how I feel — He is there to lift my head.

Orange Beach, Jan. 2015

Orange Beach, Jan. 2015

I wonder if the women who stood vigil at the cross for hours as they watched their Rabbi, the Teacher, hang, tortured from the pain, remembered this psalm?

They stood for three hours in total darkness; it must have felt like God had turned His back on the world.

I think of darkness when I think of the deep grief of a mother for her son or daughter. The loss of anyone you love is heartbreaking.

God’s inspired words in the book of Psalms are filled with laments that give us permission to wail, weep, and yell at God. He wants us to bring Him our burdens. And those cries and grief give the Holy Spirit an opening to reshape our feelings.

Five-Minute-Friday.1

Joining the Five Minute Friday community with a one word prompt. We write for five minutes (I confess, I’m not so good at the time limit), post it, and then link up over at Kate’s blog.

Counting these blessings today:

  • God’s Word preserved for us
  • the richness of poetry in the psalms that can soothe a broken heart
  • my renewed understanding of laments
  •  all three of my brothers are living in Tennessee today!

JoyMartell

 

2 thoughts on “LIFT

  1. BONNIE ROSE

    Wow! If your brother ever comes to Nashville, the one who took a shower unexpectedly in an interesting place, I’d love to talk to him and hear him talk about being active in his church.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

