HEAL

HEAL – physically or emotionally?

I’ve had some experience with healing, and the most important thing I know about it? It takes time, much more time than I expected or wanted.

Healing from a major foot surgery required me to give up driving for eight weeks! I expected to be driving after six weeks, but when my doctor checked me out, he said, “You’ve done so well. Let’s not push it.” I was in tears – not from pain, but disappointment.

I’ve also learned as I grow older, healing takes even longer. I just turned 69, living longer than both my parents, and I’ve learned to be thankful for any day that it is pain free. I’m just surprised that I am now in that “older” generation”; you know, the one where they talk about doctor appointments, medications, and the latest ailment.

The archives of this blog is filled with posts on broken hearts and the promise from God that His Son came to mend them. My heart suffered a major break almost 15 years ago when our Jennifer died; I’m still learning about healing. When I began this blog four years ago, I finally felt ready to share some of the things I learned in my journey. The writing encouraged me and made me stronger.

God has blessed me in this healing:

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire. 

He set my feet on a rock, gave me a firm place to stand.

He put a new song in my heart, a hymn of praise to our God.

TrustversePsalm 40:2-3 

 

I praise and thank my God for pulling me out of sadness and grief and placing my feet on a firm rock.

JoyMartell

Joining the Five Minute Friday community with a one word prompt. We write for five minutes (I confess, I’m not so good at the time limit), post it, and then link up over at Kate’s blog.

4 thoughts on “HEAL

  1. E. Adams Wright

    Joy, how true it is that healing, sometimes, can take longer than we expect or desire. I am thankful for His faithfulness and grace throughout the process. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

