NOW is the time

Five-Minute-Friday.1

Joining the Five Minute Friday community with a one word prompt. We write for five minutes (I confess, I’m not so good at the time limit), post it, and then link up over at Kate’s blog.

Disclaimer:  due to Internet issues last night I had to give up on publishing this on Friday. This took way longer than 5 minutes!

My dad rolled a clean sheet of paper into the manual typewriter. I leaned over to see what he typed.

“Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their country.” 

If any of us kids wanted to “type”, that is the sentence we started with. Many of my early years found us in rental houses with one of the bedrooms assigned as Daddy’s office. He preached for small churches in Michigan, so small that they met in schools or American Legion Halls. From his home office he created and printed a church bulletin, his weekly sermons and Bible studies.

Daddy’s brand new office in Rainbow City, Alabama

This phrase popped into my head when I saw today’s word, NOW. Is this such a time for all good men and women to rise to aid our country. Aren’t we all weary of politics, accusing and name-calling?

Ann Voskamp’s wrote America a beautiful love letter in October, reminding us why we are great. (She lives in Canada). Read this to be reminded that even though NOW seems all-consumed by politics and leaders we don’t believe or trust, we are a great country who know:

No matter who takes the White House in January, there are people in God’s House who will keep taking hope into the streets.

Read this NOW!

Ann’s blog in the past few weeks has been gut-wrenching, highlighting the crisis in Aleppo. Her little country church sponsors a family from Aleppo, found them a place to live, gave them everything they needed.

Read these blog posts:

Ann’s writing always moves me, but these stories share how a broken world impacts her family and prompts them to invest personally.

I thank God for aid workers and medical people in the middle of Aleppo, struggling to take care of more people every day.

I thank God for lessons learned about NOW, the most important time.

JoyMartell

 

2 thoughts on “NOW is the time

  1. Gayl

    Joy, it’s interesting that the sentence that popped into your head was also the first thing I thought of when I heard the prompt! But I decided to write something different. 😉 You are right, though, it is the time for all of us to rise up and share the love of Christ. No matter who is in the White House, God is on the throne. Blessings to you! I’m your neighbor at #FiveMinuteFriday.

    Reply
    1. JoyMartell Post author

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I posted this so late I doubted anyone would see it. It’s so affirming to know other minds are aligned with my thoughts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

