CONNECT: Five Minute Friday

Five-Minute-Friday.1Joining the Five Minute Friday community with a one word prompt. We write for five minutes (I confess, I’m not so good at the time limit), post it, and then link up over at Kate’s blog.

Connecting is hard-wired in our brains. When you read, listen to news, talk to a stranger, your brain is searching for patterns, for some previous bit of knowledge or understanding to connect to this new piece.

During my teaching days I loved to plan a new unit by researching. Finding media (books, movies, quotes, a place or event) that connected to the topic kept me engaged for hours. Sometimes a field trip provided the ultimate connection. When I taught The Miracle Worker we took a trip to Ivy Green, Helen’s home in Alabama. Inner city students who had never left the state of Tennessee engaged in this home preserved as it was in Helen’s days. When a group discovered the pump out back, they asked, “Is the real pump? The one that Helen and her teacher touched?” That breakthrough moment in Helen’s life suddenly connected for these students.

cam-ps-119This month I’m researching the connections in Psalms to the Messiah for an adult Bible class I will teach in February. God’s Word is so rich in connections; just read the first chapter of Matthew and connect the Old Testament men and women to the Messiah. The deeper you dig into Scripture the more connections you can make.

I am thankful today for:

  • God’s Word preserved for us
  • the richness of poetry in the Psalms that speaks to our emotions and draws us nearer to the Father
  • new understanding of Psalm 2 and 22

JoyMartell

 

7 thoughts on “CONNECT: Five Minute Friday

  1. Cheryl

    Sounds like you were a great teacher. Finding connections is so important in the classroom.

    Not too long ago, I connected Rahab with Ruth. Mother-in-law and daughter-in-law. These two were both outsiders brought in. I wondered how Rahab taught her son, Boaz, because of her unique background as one brought in, to be a man of character who was open to marrying a foreigner.

    I knew Rahab and Ruth were in Jesus’ lineage, I hadn’t connected with how close they were (even though I read it before). While Rahab was not mentioned in Ruth, her influence in the story, as the mother of Boaz, makes her part of the beautiful story of Ruth.

    I’m glad to be your fmf neighbor.

    Reply
    1. JoyMartell Post author

      Amazing how those connections are like ripples from a stone in the water. As I referenced the lineage of Christ I stopped to look up my favorite resource on those women: Francine Rivers’ book, A Lineage of Grace. This is a wonderful book to just read about the five women in the lineage, but also a great study at the end of each novella. Thanks for dropping in.

      Reply
    1. JoyMartell Post author

      Thanks for dropping in. There is an outdoor stage on the back of the Ivy Green property where they have performances in the summer. I just love that play and the whole neighborhood around Ivy Green.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

