A Blood Test Changed My Life

Spoiler Alert: this is a good change in my life.

My food allergies have been well-documented here, even with a 31-day series of how to cope with allergies to wheat and milk.

Last week at the allergist’s office I told the nurse practitioner that I don’t seem to be as sensitive to my food allergies. I don’t have to worry about cross-contamination and have not had a serious reaction since last July, and the other issue, IBS, has been under control for a year. So, a nurse drew blood and had it tested for 14 of the most common foods.

Got the results a week ago! Hallelujah! (picture me jumping in the air, clicking my heels, and shouting)

Wheat and milk scored in the borderline range, 0.11 and 0.13 out of 100. This is the best news I’ve had in years! I can now begin adding foods back into my diet that I haven’t eaten in 7 years. My life is now sooooo much easier.

I started with wheat; last Sunday I made a strawberry pie using this recipe and used a pre-made crust out of wheat. Had two pieces and did not react this morning! Again, I shout, “Hallelujah!”

Every day last week I ate some thing made with wheat: Sister Schubert yeast rolls, snack bar with wheat, lemon poppy seed muffins, a croissant at Rafferty’s, slices of Larry’s chocolate birthday cake. After church Sunday we went to Arby’s; I ate roast beef on a bun and curly fries! I just savor every bite!

I have had no reactions, so I plan to continue trying some things I have missed: biscuits, sliced bread for a sandwich, cookies. I’ll go to a Memorial Picnic today and have a grilled hot dog ON A BUN.

And how is this miracle possible? All things were aligned at the same time:

  • allergy shots – I’m finally on maintenance for all my airborn allergies
  • asthma – under control, lungs clear
  • sinuses – clear
  • inflammation – gone after knee surgery
  • IBS under control

When all these issues are low (like filling a glass of water), then the other big allergies (foods) are also low.

Friends have asked, “Aren’t you scared everytime to eat some wheat?” No, I’ve had a lot of experience reading the signs of my reactions. First, I’ve had very few reactions right after eating.  Second, my reactions usually come the morning after eating something with wheat or milk. It often begins with hives, itching, swelling and then diarrhea and occasionally vomiting. When things were really bad I ALWAYS had an EpiPen close by which began to work immediately. When I was teaching this reaction was quite inconvenient. I nearly always had to go home.

1st hydrangea bloom of this season

When did I notice an improvement? About two years ago, I tried communion bread, just a pinch. I’ve continued with this every Sunday with no reactions. Then, lately, when we ate at a restaurant I would take a pinch of Larry’s biscuit or roll. Again, no reaction.

Writing about biscuits makes me think of a place I want to go next: Cracker Barrel! I could not even eat their cornbread because it has regular flour and milk. Yum, can’t wait!

Of course the downside is all this eating will likely add pounds when I want to lose a few more. But I’m counting the joys every day I have no reactions. I’ll begin milk products soon — cheese is first! And then pizza! Gluten-free pizza crusts are just, well, like cardboard.

Mother’s Day Therapy, planting petunias

That lonely stem in the long flower box is a sweet potato vine that is already producing leaves

I am so thankful for the changes in my body that allow me to eat foods made with wheat and milk. 

I’m thankful for the allergy office staff and the clinic staff where I get allergy shots every week for their attention to details that have resulted in improvements in my health.

JoyMartell

One thought on “A Blood Test Changed My Life

  1. Martha Mitchell

    Martell in was jumping up and down in celebration with you!!!!! I know what a hard road this has been. I can’t wait to hear how your 1st pizza (in a LONG time!) will taste! Praise the Lord and His healing power!!! 💖💖💖💖💖

    Reply

Leave a Reply

